Home > Gaming, News > First Impressions – Ninety-Nine Nights 2

First Impressions – Ninety-Nine Nights 2

A demo of the game recently released for Xbox 360 and I decided to give it a go.

Before playing the demo, I was expecting the worst just like the first one but during the demo, I noticed alot of changes in the game’s system aswell as graphics

First of all, the graphics are noticeable, its gone from shiny armour and nice looking environment to a slightly more Lord of the Rings look, it makes the game look alot better and serious but compared to most games of today, it’s still out of fashion

Like most Dynasty Warriors clones, it tries to fit as many enemies in one screen for maximum carnage but this sacrifices detail on the soldiers and could mean lagging, it’s not always a good thing.

Since this is insane carnage, it’s been classed as “Extreme Hack n Slash” and also the age rating from the first one is drastic, N3 II is now a Mature/18+ only due to the mass gore and possible bad language.

One drastic difference I saw is they removed the insane specials that kills hundreds upon hundreds of enemies at once. It’s been replaced with a ability system, hold a shoulder button and press Y, X, B or A. If you played Dynasty Warriors 6 Empires, this will sound familiar, thats because it uses the same system which is a bit of a let down as it’s not a original idea but it the effects it does is quite over-the-top

In the demo, you play 2 missions, one is technically a “kill them all” sort of level, the other is a short boss mission, I was really disappointed with the boss level as you could finish it in just mere minutes.

Apparently the full game is already out in America and Japan with no positive date for a european release.

In my view, if your into hack n slash/DW clone games, this might be worth the effort but with anything else, it’s probably best renting first to see if it gets your fancy.

Categories: Gaming, News Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
  1. Gil
    August 26, 2010 at 20:09

    I really enjoyed the first one. I even liked it enough to get full Achievements for it. That being said I was excited for this. From reading your take on it I’m a little upset. My favorite part of the original game was the over the top special skills that just about killed everything around you. Getting rid of this game mechanic is a total bummer to me. It’s like taking away VATS from Fallout 3. Personally I think it’s a really stupid move. I’ll have to at least try out the demo to see how bad it really is. Perhaps I may be surprised and like it. I dunno.

    • August 26, 2010 at 20:20

      We all have different tastes and opinions, I am just stating my opinion from the demo I played.
      But who knows, maybe you’ll like it, maybe you won’t, in the end, it’s your choice on if you want to get it or not.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

